edmuhamad
gray
9 posters
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
gray
gray

Training for Marathon Empty
PostSubject: Training for Marathon   Training for Marathon EmptyWed Nov 30, 2011 2:11 am

Hi Guys,

Know that some of you are training for marathon and Ucl Lau has given me the honor to start a thread on this topic FOR INJURY FREE TRAINING.

First of all, I must disclaim that I am no expert and these are just from my personal experience.

Given that many of us start from different levels, we must first know where we stand in our fitness level. Some of us play golf 5 days a week, some of us 5 days a year. Others are 21years fresh from NS while others are 62years fresh into retirement.

1. get a good pair of shoes. Know your feet and stride type. Do you over pronate or under pronate, buying the correct shoes will help reduce injury. never run a marathon with a new pair of shoes.

2. start running. What other way to train for running than to start running. Start slow. Maybe 1km 3 times a week, then 2 km 3 times a week, then 5km 2 times a week.......

3. Rotate your training. Dont always just go for distance running. if your plan is to exercise 3 times a week, use 1 time for the long distance run. Anotehr time for swimming and the last time for sprinting or gym.

4. Dont exercise everyday. if your body is not used to it, over exercising will make you weak and then you will fall sick easily. Once you fall sick, you need time to recover and this disrupts your training program. Kiang tio ho, mai keh kiang.

5. Exercise at 80% your heart rate (except when doing sprinting). Dont over do it. Buy a polar watch to monitor your exercise heart rate. Queensway got good selection at good price.

Have a good one. Want to train, jio me too. Ucl Lau knows how to contact me!

Back to top Go down
edmuhamad
Legendary Member
Legendary Member
edmuhamad

PostSubject: Re: Training for Marathon   Training for Marathon EmptyWed Nov 30, 2011 2:40 am

Thanks for the info...... Cheers Wink